Boone County Library

​​



Arkansas State Library


Traveler Databases:



Some of the great databases offered are listed below but click on the above link for more!!!



Arts

Art & Humanities Database (ProQuest Central)
Providing online access to 400 contemporary specialist art titles.


Bibliographies & Indexes

AGRICOLA
Literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.(AGRICultural OnLine Access).

ERIC
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides extensive access to education-related literature, including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

MEDLINE
Abstracts of authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more from the National Library of Medicine. For full text to materials abstracted in MEDLINE, access the Health and Medical Collection or Nursing & Allied Health databases.

Books & eBooks

eBooks Central
Collection from ProQuest providing access to authoritative ebooks from the world's top publishers on a range of subjects: arts, business management, education, general knowledge, health & medicine, history & political science, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology, and social science.

World Book eBooks
A collection of 25 classic and 25 additional proprietary World Book non-fiction titles. Desktop computer and tablet users may access the site via browser or checkout content for offline use. The checkout function allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users.

Business

Accounting, Tax & Business Collection (ProQuest Central)
Information on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.

Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest Central)
Covers Asian (Eastern Hemisphere) business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.

Business Market Research Collection
A new database that was part of ABI/Inform and also includes Hoover's, Ox Research Country Reports and the Snapshots Series Industry Reports.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (ProQuest Central)
A Canadian focus on current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.

Entrepreneurship Database
Designed for entrepreneurs wanting quick access to the latest information on business topics, quick access to useful toolkits, and recommendations from experts in Editor's Picks.

Career & Vocational

Career and Technical Education (ProQuest Central)
Research on accounting, auto mechanics, building trades, computing science, graphic design, healthcare, photography, sales and retail & more in the Vo-Tech curriculum for both students and instructors.

Mango Languages
Provides language learning experiences with step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for over 16 languages along with a text translator. *First time users must create a profile in order to use this resource.

Education & Library Science

Education Database (ProQuest Central)
Access to over 1,090 top educational publications, including more than 800 titles in full text.

ERIC
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides extensive access to education-related literature, including coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Contains abstracts from over 300 periodicals from around 40 countries and 20 languages, providing comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the scholarly literature related to library science.

Library Science Database (ProQuest Central)
Access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. Specifically designed to provide full-text support for core titles included in the Library & Information Science Abstracts database.

Research Companion
Developed to help students do more effective research and assist educators in teaching the information literacy core principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.

Genealogy

African American Heritage
A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

HeritageQuest Online
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

General Research

Credo Reference
Online reference service that combines authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform.

eLibrary: Academic
General reference collection of periodical and digital media content specifically tailored for K-12 schools and libraries of all kinds, covering a variety of subjects including business, education, general interest, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and many other curriculum-specific subject areas.

eLibrary: Guided Research Interface
Provides access to eLibrary's periodical and digital media collection through a user interface specifically designed for student researchers.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book's content, rich media, and interactive features in Spanish for young learners.

ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 39 databases that can be searched together or individually.

Research Library (ProQuest Central)
A mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other resources covering 150 subject areas: arts, business, education, engineering and technology, health and medical, history, law, literature and languages, multicultural themes, psychology, natural sciences, social sciences, & women's studies

SIRS Discoverer
General reference database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas and content sets such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health, and technology. SIRS Discoverer provides editorially-selected, indexed, and curated materials from over 2,100 newspapers, magazines, and websites offering guided research for young researchers.

SIRS Issues Researcher
Background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, proealth, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

World Book Advanced
A reference tool for 8th grade and up that includes an encyclopedia, multimedia, e-books, and primary source databases all fully integrated in a single search interface.

World Book Discover
Reference resource with content and tools specifically tailored for students reading below grade level because of language or learning difficulties.

World Book eBooks
A collection of 25 classic and 25 additional proprietary World Book non-fiction titles. Desktop computer and tablet users may access the site via browser or checkout content for offline use. The checkout function allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users.

World Book Kids
General reference tool for young students with easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations, videos, comparison tools, and a wealth of engaging games and activities, including an atlas, interactive maps, flags, and over 200 game and activities.

World Book Student
A research tool tailored for students in elementary & middle schools with over 40,000 encyclopedia and reference articles, 10,000 biographies, multimedia, videos, animations and student activities.

World Book Timelines
A resource for accessing or creating timelines for projects in the arts, literature, notable people, science & technology, world history, geography and more. Users can select a built timeline and make changes or create new timelines then images and videos.

Health & Medicine

Family Health Database (ProQuest Central)
Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

History

History Study Center
Collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present.

K-12 Student Resources

CultureGrams
Provides access to cultural reports, statistics, and primary source material for countries across the globe, including the United States and Canadian provinces. Includes unique information such as native recipes, interviews, photos and videos. Contains four modules: Kids, Provinces, States and World.

Early World of Learning (World Book)
An online resource for preschoolers & children in early elementary that includes three interactive learning environments:

Trek's Travels offers narrated stories, interactive games, and original videos that teach critical early childhood themes, including numbers, shapes, colors, opposites, and more.
Welcome to Reading provides leveled readers to develop and strengthen phonics, vocabulary, phonemic awareness and comprehension skills. The Lexile Framework® for Reading ensures that early readers use text at their level.
Know It offers a visually rich first encyclopedia that will captivate early learners with non-fiction topics of interest and importance to them.

eLibrary: Academic
General reference collection of periodical and digital media content specifically tailored for K-12 schools and libraries of all kinds, covering a variety of subjects including business, education, general interest, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and many other curriculum-specific subject areas.

Research Companion
Developed to help students do more effective research and assist educators in teaching the information literacy core principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.

SIRS Discoverer
General reference database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas and content sets such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health, and technology. SIRS Discoverer provides editorially-selected, indexed, and curated materials from over 2,100 newspapers, magazines, and websites offering guided research for young researchers.

World Book Advanced
A reference tool for 8th grade and up that includes an encyclopedia, multimedia, e-books, and primary source databases all fully integrated in a single search interface.

World Book Discover
Reference resource with content and tools specifically tailored for students reading below grade level because of language or learning difficulties.

World Book eBooks
A collection of 25 classic and 25 additional proprietary World Book non-fiction titles. Desktop computer and tablet users may access the site via browser or checkout content for offline use. The checkout function allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users.

World Book Kids
General reference tool for young students with easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations, videos, comparison tools, and a wealth of engaging games and activities, including an atlas, interactive maps, flags, and over 200 game and activities.

World Book Student
A research tool tailored for students in elementary & middle schools with over 40,000 encyclopedia and reference articles, 10,000 biographies, multimedia, videos, animations and student activities.

World Book Timelines
A resource for accessing or creating timelines for projects in the arts, literature, notable people, science & technology, world history, geography and more. Users can select a built timeline and make changes or create new timelines then images and videos.

Literature

Learning: Literature
Students can find author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources from medieval times to the present.

Literature Online (LION)
Primary and critical text database for literary research at all levels. The collection includes full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose stretching back to the 8th century through the present day.